- A.D.A.M. Interactive Anatomy Online (Animated Dissection of Anatomy for Medicine)
Complete library of 3D images and over 3,000 illustrations and research for learning clinical concepts in the areas of allied health, nursing and related science fields provided by The North Carolina Community College System Office.
- ABC-CLIO E-book Collection
The new ABC-CLIO eBook Collection offers the same high-quality, authoritative, scholarly information librarians have come to expect from ABC-CLIO plus enhanced readability via a new reading pane, improved search and browse capabilities, and more. Customize your digital collection with over 7,000 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger.
- ABI/INFORM Complete
Contains a broad array of business information, from scholarly journals and dissertations, to company, industry and market focused trade news. ABI/INFORM features the latest news from top sources like the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times and The Economist and is widely recommended as an excellent source for all business disciplines and courses. Besides providing coverage of emerging issues in the marketplace, ABI/INFORM also provides valuable historical perspective, with journals and other material dating back to the early 1900s.
- Academic OneFile
Authoritative and comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines with millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.
Statistical, analytical and mapping tool designed to aid economic and community development decision making.
- Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection
Journal articles, reference reports, proceedings, and dissertations covering current news and topics as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues.
- African-American Poetry
The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.
- Agriculture Collection
Database of agriculture and related fields that provides access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
- American Poetry
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
- American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Once logged in, the first page presented describes the various ways to access the collection: the alphabetical index, the subject index, as they were presented in the print volumes, or through a search.
Access to primary source information, including birth and death records, ship logs, and cemetery records.
- Arts & Humanities Database
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Open access to more than 1 million research articles in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
NC³ ATLAS provides a single resource gateway, with a simple interface, that directs users to the wide variety of teaching and learning resources available to faculty and staff of the North Carolina Community College System. ATLAS is the product of a VLC project.
Reference database with authoritative and up-to-date auto repair and service information on more than 38,000 vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.
- Bills from the NC General Assembly
You can search the current session as well as past sessions back to the 1985-86 Session.
- Biodiversity Heritage Library
Improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biographical material on people from all time periods, geographical locations and fields of endeavor. Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes any print product that includes biographical information on multiple persons.
- Biography In Context
Allows users to search for contextual information on the world's most influential people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
- Biography Reference Bank
A biography database of in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index, and specialist content from Junior Authors & Illustrators.
- Biography Reference Center
A comprehensive collection of full-text biographies on popular and heavily-researched figures. Users can locate biographies of interest by browsing key categories, including occupation, nationality, publication and more than 30 genre categories including actors, artists, athletes, authors, current world leaders, explorers, scientists and many others.
- BioMed Central
Provides free access to biomedical research publications such as journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts.
The North Carolina Community College System Office has purchased the license for BoardVitals which is part of STAT!Ref. BoardVitals is a resource of exam banks to prepare our students for certification tests in Nursing, Radiography Tech, Surgical Tech.
- Book Review Index Plus
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews that includes more than five million review citations from thousands of publications, with linking to more than 630,000 full-text reviews.
- Business Collection
Coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
- Business Economics and Theory
Access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.
- Business Insights: Global
Source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
- Business Link North Carolina
Business Link North Carolina offers a central source for consultations, information and referrals... just the help you need to tap into all the State has to offer to help you start, grow, and support your business in North Carolina.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Complete (CBCA)
Articles spanning Canadian agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more, including scholarly content.
- Canadian Newsstand Complete
Over 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features.
- CCLINC - Mayland's Online Library Catalog
Our automated online library catalog is part of the Community College Libraries in North Carolina (CCLNC) system which networks 46 community colleges and offers searching and holds for over 1.8 million titles. Materials not immediately available may often be obtained from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) agreements.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
CDC.gov is CDC's primary online communication channel. Annually, there are close to 500 million page views to the site, averaging 41 million page views per month. CDC.gov provides users with credible, reliable health information.
- Centros para el Control y Prevención de Enfermedades
Información y recursos para mantener la salud y prevenir enfermedades. Información de salud en español.
Free database of structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including the TOXNET® system.
Free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 34 million structures, properties and associated information.
There are currently more than 40,000 compounds and more than 45,000 synthesis references in this freely accessible database of chemicals.
Automotive repair information available to car owners with thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
- Clinical Trials
A database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
- Communications and Mass Media Collection
Access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations,literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
- Computer Database
Access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
- Consumer Reports
Popular collection of product reviews and recommendations for cars, appliances, electronics, personal finance, and health information.
- CORE (COnnecting REpositories)
Aggregates all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide.
- CQ Magazine
News and analysis on how legislation is shaped. Weekly coverage of bills, votes, amendments, committees, and more.
- CQ Researcher
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in depth coverage of political and social issues,
such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
- Credo Reference (Complete Core)
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research with hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
- Crime in North Carolina (Uniform Crime Report)
The North Carolina Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program is part of a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort administered by the Federal Bureau of Investigation. While the program’s primary objective is to generate a reliable set of criminal statistics for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management, its data have over the years become one the country’s leading social indicators.
- Culinary Arts Collection
Access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
- Cypress Resume
A simple and effective tool for resume creation which is specifically designed for job seekers skittish about writing, by allowing anyone to create a professional resume in a matter of minutes.
- Design Library
Contains lists of online resources for images with few copyright restrictions includes image resources for art, architecture, landscape architecture, graphic design, industrial design, fashion, decorative arts, cities, maps, engineering, history, religion, medicine, natural sciences, and much more.
- Digital Public Library of America
Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program housed in the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Digital Heritage Center works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online.
- Diversity Studies Collection
Access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
An online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.
- Ebook Central
The Academic Complete and Public Library Complete ebrary collections are combined into one database for easy access. This resource contains scholarly eBook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction titles on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills. There are no limits on concurrent multi-user access to ebrary titles, and most titles can be downloaded and read via the new ebrary Reader and on the Bluefire Reader app for Android and iOS.
- EBSCO eBook Academic Collection
There are more than 133,000 eBooks in this package, including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, MIT Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Additional academic publishers include Elsevier Ltd.; Brill Academic Publishers; Taylor & Francis Ltd; Sage Publications, Ltd. and John Wiley & Sons, Inc. All titles are available with unlimited user access, and titles are added to the package each month.
- Economic Development Information System
The N.C. Department of Commerce is the state's leading economic-development agency, working with local, regional, national and international companies. The department’s mission is to improve the economic well-being and quality of life for all North Carolinians.
- Educational Resources Information Center
ERIC is an online digital library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the US Department of Education.
- Educator's Reference Complete
Access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education including content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.
- eLibrary Curriculum Edition
General reference collection of periodical and
digital media content designed for school
curriculum and research support.
- Elsevier Open Access
All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download.
- English Poetry
The original ground-breaking Chadwyck-Healey collection, English Poetry contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets are drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
- Environmental Studies and Policy
Access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
- Faber Poetry Library
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. The Faber list spans the seventy-year history of this major publishing house, and includes the poetry of Thom Gunn, Siegfried Sassoon, T.S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Wendy Cope and Seamus Heaney. In total The Faber Poetry Library contains 140 volumes by 50 poets.
FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications.
- Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center
A comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.
- Films on Demand
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
- Fine Arts and Music Collection
Access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and film making emphasizing full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
- Gale Criminal Justice Collection
Access to academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice, law, law enforcement, security, terrorism and related fields.
- Gale Literary Sources
Gale Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres with Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
- Gale Literature Resource Center
An extensive literature resource collection with articles, critical essays, topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
- Gale PowerSearch
Provides sophisticated yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information.
- Gale Science in Context
Reference content plus magazines, journals, news sources, experiments, and more. Covering earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics, science history, and biography.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
- Gale World Scholar: Latin & Carib
Access to reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data. An archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad.
- Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture
Access to academic journals and magazines focused on both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies. The database offers biotechnologists,farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects alike access to important content relevant to their pursuits.
- Gender Studies Collection
Database offering access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- General OneFile
One-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines with millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.
- Global Issues In Context
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events featuring are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected,relevant sources for analysis of these issues using rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs.
- Go Ask Alice
Go Ask Alice! is the health question and answer Internet resource produced by Alice! Health Promotion at Columbia University — a division of Columbia Health.
- Google Scholar
Search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, patents, case laws, and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
- GREENR (Global Ref on the Environment)
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems,health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
- Health & Wellness Resource Center
Access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more covering information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
- Health Reference Center Academic
Access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Healthfinder, a government Web site where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy.
HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.
- HIV InSite
Comprehensive, up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy from the University of California San Francisco
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
3.5 million digitized pages of historic newspaper
content from the North Carolina Collection at
- Hoover's Company Profiles
Information for over 40,000 companies, including company overview, industry information, leadership and historical financials.
- Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure
Access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism.
- Information Science and Library Issues
Access to scholarly journals and trade publications essential for information professionals and other knowledge workers including coverage of topics including information infrastructure, metadata architecture, publishing, and more.
- Informe Academico
Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina. [Provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.]
- INTELECOM Online Resources Network
A fully-hosted and searchable video on demand database designed to meet the growing demand for rich media in support of online, hybrid and face-to-face classes. All video is closed captioned and meets 508 requirements for the hearing impaired.
- Job Openings
NCWorks is a one-stop online resource for job seekers and employers in North Carolina. Job seekers can search for jobs, create resumes, and find education and training. Employers can find candidates, post jobs, and search labor market information.
- Khan Academy
Khan Academy is an organization on a mission with the goal of changing education for the better by providing a free world-class education for anyone anywhere. All of the site's resources are available to anyone. It doesn't matter if you are a student, teacher, home-schooler, principal, adult returning to the classroom after 20 years, or a friendly alien just trying to get a leg up in earthly biology. Khan Academy's materials and resources are available free of charge.
Information about children from before birth through adolescence. Topics include: emotional development, nutrition, parenting, first aid, and infections.
- Lab Tests Online
Lab Tests Online has been designed to help you, as a patient or family caregiver, to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases.
Find information and links about your legal rights, the law, the courts, legal forms and more.
Provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers, and offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays including secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
- Mango Languages
A language-learning software with over 70 world language courses and over 17 ESL/ELL courses, featuring an engaging user interface, voice comparison, fresh design, foreign language films, cultural anecdotes, and a user-friendly mobile app. It is normal to see a login screen as the opening page for Mango. First-time users must either create a profile or continue as a guest to access Mango.
- MEDCOM TRAINEX Allied Health Streaming Videos Generic Mayland Login
Hundreds of Allied Health Videos that are streamed online. Topics include Anatomy and Physiology, Basic Clinical Skills, Infection Control, Legal Aspects, Nursing Assistant, Obstetrical Nursing, Pediatrics, Safety and more.
Nursing Students: If you were assigned a Username & Password you use must login with them using the link below.
- MEDCOM TRAINEX Allied Health Streaming Videos Individual Login
Hundreds of Allied Health Videos that are streamed online. Topics include Anatomy and Physiology, Basic Clinical Skills, Infection Control, Legal Aspects, Nursing Assistant, Obstetrical Nursing, Pediatrics, Safety and more.
Nursing Students: If you were assigned a Username & Password you must login with them using this link to see your assignment(s).
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
- MedlinePlus Drugs & Supplements
Learn about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
- Merck Manual Home Edition
Merck is committed to bringing out the best in medicine. As part of that effort, Merck provides all of The Merck Manuals as a service to the community.
- Military and Intelligence Database Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs including content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center
Morningstar's proprietary data includes detailed analyst opinions on 1,700 stocks, 2,200 mutual funds, and 400 exchange traded funds. Get a clear overview of index returns, sector returns, and fund category returns, along with the most active stocks throughout the day. Plus tools such as Screeners for both funds and stocks; the Portfolio X-ray. newsletters, articles and video features.
MyiLibrary offers library patrons access to some of the most topical and current e-books available today. You can access a wide range of research, reference and reading materials online from any location.
- National Cancer Institute
The National Cancer Institute coordinates the National Cancer Program, which conducts and supports research, training, health information dissemination, and other programs with respect to the cause, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of cancer, rehabilitation from cancer, and the continuing care of cancer patients and the families of cancer patients.
- National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine. The mission of NCCAM is to define, through rigorous scientific investigation, the usefulness and safety of complementary and alternative medicine interventions and their roles in improving health and health care.
- National Institute of Mental Health
Transforming the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses.
- Natural Standard via Therapeutic Research
Evidence-based reviews on dietary supplements and complementary and alternative medicine therapies, including herbs, supplements, vitamins, diets, nutrition, exercise, and complementary practices and modalities.
- NC ECHO
NC ECHO searches across digital collections at a variety of cultural heritage institutions around North Carolina. NC ECHO is a first step for users interested in exploring North Carolina's diverse collections of historic photos, documents, books, family histories, maps, and much more.
- NC Health Info
Funded by and a service of the UNC Chapel Hill Health Sciences Library, NC Health Info is an online guide to web sites of quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina. NC Health Info has an established history of meeting the health information needs and interests of English and Spanish speaking North Carolinians and leading users to resources that are reliable and easy to understand. Because links to information are vetted, selected, and maintained by North Carolina librarians who volunteer their time and expertise, users are assured of finding the very best information.
- NC LIVE - (Home Page)
NC LIVE offers free electronic access to resources for all ages on topics ranging from careers, business, and investing, to health, history, and genealogy. Ebooks, audiobooks, videos, magazines, newspapers, journals, language-learning tools, and other online materials available through NC LIVE are designed for at-home use.
- NC LIVE - Articles
Access to Articles via NC LIVE. Free access to thousands of online magazines, newspapers, and journals via dozens of databases.
- NC LIVE - Audio
Downloadable audio books on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more.
- NC LIVE - eBooks
NC LIVE provides North Carolina’s libraries with access to hundreds of thousands of eBook titles, almost all of which are downloadable! Many of these titles are non-fiction, including information in literature, health, technology, self help, history, social sciences, career development, reference books, and more.
- NC LIVE - Home Grown eBook Collection
E-books published in NC. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known local authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry that can be read simultaneously by an unlimited number of readers.
- NC LIVE - Nursing & Allied Health
Their Nursing & Allied Health Collection provides professional type resources, as well as information geared to laymen (which can be used by professionals for patient information and education).
- NC LIVE - Video Collection
NC LIVE provides access to thousands of Streaming Video titles covering a wide range of topics.
- NC Public Schools Statistical Profile
A collection of statistical information about North Carolina's elementary and secondary schools. The profile provides data on public school pupils, personnel, and finances.
An educational resource from the North Carolina Museum of Art! This site is designed for educators, students, and anyone interested in looking at and learning from works of art.
- NCLOR (NC Learning Object Repository)
Repository provided by the North Carolina Community College System to manage, collect, and share digital learning resources for use in traditional or distance learning environments with hundreds of quality resources mapped to support NCCCS courses.
NCpedia is an online encyclopedia about North Carolina, U.S.A. As of July 1, 2014, NCpedia included 6,015 entries and 6,462 images!
- New York Times
Full articles from the New York Times (1980-current).
- NIH Senior Health
Health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries via Alexander Street Press
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
- North Carolina Agricultural Statistics Service
NORTH CAROLINA AGRICULTURAL STATISTICS brings together current and historic data relating to North Carolina agriculture. This service has been provided by the National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) in cooperation with the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (NCDA & CS) since 1919.
- North Carolina Curriculum
Provides leadership and support to educators across the State of North Carolina to build and reinforce the Common Core State Standards and North Carolina Essential Standards, to implement the North Carolina State Board of Education goals, and to inform, clarify and disseminate state and federal policies and laws.
- North Carolina Driver's Manual
NC Driver Handbooks
- North Carolina Education Directory
The directory provides information on the State Board of Education, the Department of Public Instruction, educational associations and commissions, and individual school systems and charter schools.
- North Carolina General Assembly
Official web site of the North Carolina General Assembly. Use this web site as a tool to track bills, find and communicate with State House and Senate representatives, and to follow chamber activity, meetings and issues before the General Assembly.
- North Carolina Homepage
NC.gov makes it easy to find services in all state agencies, conduct transactions, find contacts, and interact with government programs.
- North Carolina Learning Object Repository (NCLOR)
NCLOR provides a centralized location for the acquisition, collection, sharing, and management of quality learning resources for all teachers in North Carolina. A collection of documents, audio/video clips, simulations, learning modules, assessments, and more – virtually any type of learning resource that can be digitized and processed.
- North Carolina Periodicals Index
The index provides access to articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics, including the arts, business, culture, history, law, natural resources, public policy, tourism, and travel. Coverage includes 68 current and historic publications, most of which are not indexed in standard reference tools. Content coverage is selective as articles must be at least a page in length to be included. Initial coverage began in January, 1992, but retrospective coverage of historically important titles extends to the 1930s.
- North Carolina Public Health
The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) is the agency in state government responsible for ensuring the health, safety and well being of all North Carolinians, providing human service needs for special populations including individuals who are deaf, blind, developmentally disabled and mentally ill, and helping poor North Carolinians achieve economic independence
- North Carolina State Government Publications Collection
The collection includes publications on a wide variety of topics including health care, agriculture, transportation, and education. Some of the files in this collection are very large and may take several minutes to load.
- NoveList Plus
A readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.
- Nursing and Allied Health Collection
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. This database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
- OAIster via OCLC FirstSearch
OAIster records [Union catalog of digital resources] are available on the OCLC FirstSearch service to Base Package subscribers, providing another valuable access point for this rich database and a complement to other FirstSearch databases.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
This is a guide to career information about hundreds of occupations!
- Open Library
Over 200,000 downloadable eBooks are available through a partnership with Open Library, including fiction, young adult and children’s titles.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- OxResearch reports from Oxford Analytica via ProQuest Company
Succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance. It evaluates issues and events within a coherent political, social and economic framework. Additionally, it contains objective, multi-disciplinary articles compiled by an extensive international network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities around the world, as well as think-tanks and institutes of international standing.
- Pharmaceutical News Index via ProQuest Company
Gives researchers access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments. The database contains bibliographic information and indexing for 22 key U.S.and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports while offering a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
- Pop Culture Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. This database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
- Asian & European Business Collection
Detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere.
- ProQuest Banking Information Source via ProQuest Company
National and international information on the financial services industry, including banking trends, products, companies, issues and operations.
- ProQuest Biology Journals via ProQuest Company
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
- ProQuest Career & Technical Education via ProQuest Company
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
- ProQuest Central via ProQuest Company
ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world. ProQuest Central won the Software & Information Industry Association (SIIA) 2010 CODiE Award for Best Online General Reference Service.
- ProQuest Computing via ProQuest Company
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.
- ProQuest Criminal Justice Database
Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
- ProQuest Education Journals via ProQuest Company
Gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database.
- ProQuest Entrepreneurship via ProQuest Company
Bridges theory with practice, covering a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats - from video to downloadable Word and Excel files, as well as traditional text and PDFs.
- ProQuest Environmental Science Package via ProQuest Company
Contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). ESPM provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
- ProQuest European Business via ProQuest Company
Trade journals and scholarly journals with a focus on Europe.
- ProQuest Family Health via ProQuest Company
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.
- ProQuest Health & Medical Complete via ProQuest Company
Provides in-depth international coverage from over 2,400 publications with over 2100 available in full text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE® indexing. Over 500 publishers contribute to ProQuest Health & Medical Complete including Elsevier, Massachusetts Medical Society, Springer, Nature Publishing and Cambridge University Press.
- ProQuest Health Management via ProQuest Company
Designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics. Coverage for more than 840 key journals with more than 4,500 doctoral dissertations and theses, ProQuest Health Management provides users with the highest quality content, much of which is not available elsewhere.
- ProQuest Military via ProQuest Company
Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
- ProQuest Newsstand via ProQuest Company
Detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source via ProQuest Company
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 1,200 titles, with over 1,050 titles in full-text, plus more than 15,700 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
- ProQuest Political Science via ProQuest Company
This database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
- ProQuest Psychology Journals via ProQuest Company
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
- ProQuest Religion via ProQuest Company
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
- Psychology Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind with content of interest to both researchers and general users.
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Audiobook and e-book collection and platform.
- Ready Reference via Library Spot
Acronyms, Almanacs, Associations, Biographies, Calculators, Directories, Encyclopedias, Quotations, Thesauri...
Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.
- Regional Accounts Data - Local Area Personal Income
Regional data about GDP & Personal Income.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines of interest to both researchers and general users. The database offers balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.
- Research Companion
Award-winning, cloud-based information literacy solution that enables educators and librarians to guide students through research projects efficiently.
- Research Library
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
- Sage Pure Gold Open Access Journals
A collection of journals on human medicine and biomedical science.
- Salem Health via Salem Press
A comprehensive collection of online titles that covers all aspects of human health, from addictions to diseases to psychology and an award-winning medical guide.
- Salem History via Salem Press
Salem Press history titles include a wide range of topics spanning American history and the world. Learn about important moments and figures in our history.
- Salem Literature via Salem Press
These titles examine American and international literature, novelists, poets, and short stories, as well as how they relate to their plots and themes.
- Salem Science via Salem Press
These titles explore various fields in science, including medicine, the environment, careers and everything under the sun.
- Sanborn Maps North Carolina via ProQuest
ProQuest® Sanborn Maps Geo Edition™ allows for increased discovery and greater ease of use by making maps searchable by address and location. Examining temporal (time) changes is made even easier with tools that layer maps from different years on top of each other and over modern street, satellite, and hybrid layers via a Google™ map interface.
- Science Journals
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
- Science in Context via Gale
Reference content, plus magazines, journals, news sources, experiments, and more, covering earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics, science history, and biography.
The SBDC National Information Clearinghouse serving the Small Business Development Center Network and America's small business community with an excellent one-stop, comprehensive resource that aims to help both new entrants and existing business owners with research about small-business prospects.
Web-based mapping application that lets you create professional-quality maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.
- SIRS Discoverer
Articles, nonfiction books, images, activities, and websites curated for educational relevance, age appropriateness, and readability. Designed specifically for elementary and middle school students.
- SIRS Knowledge Source Package via ProQuest Company
Is a comprehensive database portal which is comprised of several distinct reference databases including SIRS® Issues Researcher, SIRS® Government Reporter, SIRS® Renaissance, and SIRS® WebSelect. It provides relevant, credible information on social issues, science, history, government, and the arts and humanities.
- Small Business Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines perfect for both business school students and entrepreneurs including insights, tips, strategies and success stories.
- Snapshots Series (market reports set)
Over 8,000 market reports across 43 industries in 40 countries, spanning the UK, Western Europe, Eastern Europe, Asia Pacific, North America, and Latin America. Reports include market size, market segmentation, market shares, market share weblinks, market distribution, market forecasts, and socio-economic data.
- Social Science Journals
Offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
- Sociology Database
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
A digital tutor in your pocket. Socratic uses artificial intelligence and data from millions of student questions to understand where a student is stuck. Answers come from the Socratic community of teachers, students, and passionate people dedicated to making learning easier.
The North Carolina Community College System Office has purchased the license for STAT!Ref which is a cross-searchable collection of electronic resources for healthcare professionals.
- State Center for Health Statistics
The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics. We provide high quality health information for better informed decisions and effective health policies. Our goal is to improve the health of all North Carolinians and their communities.
- State Data Center
The State Data Center (SDC) is a consortium of agencies cooperating with the US Bureau of the Census to provide the public with data about the state and its component geographic areas. The SDC lead agency is located in the Technology and Data Services Section of OSBM, where it provides extensive resources for retrieving statistical information. Three state-level coordinating agencies work closely with the lead agency:
- State Demographics
To enhance the set of analytical tools available to government and citizens for budgeting, planning, research, and other needs, OSBM creates and collects many different types of socioeconomic data. The rich content of these data serve as a vital tool in the budget process. The data are also important to businesses, local governments, academic communities, grant organizations, the media, and the public, especially at the sub-state level.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Provides line-item access to over 1,000,000 individually indexed tables, as selected from the major statistical compilations and special studies issued by the federal government, private research firms, state governments, and intergovernmental organizations (IGOs). Up to 130,000 new tables are added yearly. All tables are available as images. Since 2006, all tables have been available in both image and Excel formats.
- Student Resources In Context
Contextual information on a wide array of subjects. This solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- Tax Forms via Internal Revenue Service
Latest Federal Tax forms and publications.
- Tax Forms via NC Department of Revenue
Latest North Carolina Tax forms and publications.
- Taylor & Francis Open Journals
A collection of open access journals from multiple disciplines.
- Teaching Positions in North Carolina
Information about employment opportunities in North Carolina schools.
- Telecommunications Database
Covers topics including computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, radio and television.
- Testing & Education Reference Center
A testing and education preparation resource that includes in-depth information on college, graduate, and professional programs, professional training, scholarships, and entrance tests alongside practice tests for entrance exams, certifications, and licensing exams.
- Twentieth Century African-American Poetry
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
- Twentieth Century American Poetry
This unparalleled collection includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
- Twentieth-Century English Poetry
A collection of more than 600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and incorporating the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.
- U.S. History Collection
Access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
- U.S. History In Context
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center/NCCCS Webinar Series
Collaboration with telemedicine department of UNC-LCCC to produce webinars for NCCCS nursing courses shared with the state-wide community. Webinars include closed captioning and scripts.
Statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics.
- US Newsstream
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.
- Virtual Learning Community
“Learn. Virtually Anywhere.” A collaborative effort of the North Carolina Community College System for developing online course content and providing support services for the benefit and success of distance learning students, educators, and eLearning administrators.
- Vocations and Careers Collection
Access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers current and applicable content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
- Wall Street Journal
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
- War and Terrorism Collection
Access to academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science. The database offers balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.
- Wiley Open Access
Contains journal articles from across multiple research areas.
- Women's Health
A federal government website managed by the Office on Women’s Health in the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
- World History Collection
Access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
- World History In Context
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
The world's largest network of library content and services lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.